Western Intercollegiate

Western Intercollegiate Golf Tournament at Pasatiempo

Each year, Pasatiempo Golf Club and San Jose State University host some of the nation’s top collegiate golf teams in the Western Intercollegiate Golf Tournament (The Western). The Western is one of the longest running tournaments in college golf, and the roll call of young college stars who have played the Western reads like a golf hall of fame: Ken Venturi, Bob Rosburg, Gene Littler, Johnny Miller, Dave Stockton, Al Geiberger, Tom Watson, Bobby Clampett, Tiger Woods, Jordan Spieth and Scottie Scheffler as Longhorns and Arron Oberholser, to name a few.

2015 Results from the Santa Cruz Sentinel: Former University of Texas star golfer Jordan Spieth, the newly crowned Masters champion, won many titles as an amateur, but he never won the Western Intercollegiate at Pasatiempo Golf Club.

Spieth tied for fifth at the tournament as a freshman before turning professional after the 2012 season.

Enter the next wave of Longhorns talent: freshman Scottie Scheffler, a three-time University Interscholastic League Class 4A state champion in Texas. Scheffler fired a 9-under 201 at the 69th annual Western Intercollegiate to earn his first collegiate win Sunday. His final-round 67 helped the Longhorns shoot 340 in the third round — a modern era record for the final round — on the way to winning the team title with a 1,052 total.

“That means a lot,” Scheffler said of the team win, “probably more than the individual win. It’s good to get some momentum heading to the postseason now.”

Oregon took second with a 1,066 total and Stanford was third in the prestigious 14-team event at

Read more at the SantaCruzSentinel.com or watch this video from the Santa Cruz Sentinel.

Golfweek's video coverage of the 69th annual Western Intercollegiate at Pasatiempo Golf Club:

Tournament Background

The Western was originally conceived by the Northern California Golf Association (NCGA) as a means to give all the college players around the bay area an opportunity to play and gain some tournament experience during the spring break. The timing of the tournament, the annual spring break, was selected to fill a void that existed in the collegiate golf schedules at that time. In 1947, the NCGA staged the first Western Collegiate on the Pasatiempo Golf Course.

Given the loose criteria for the schools to be included, area junior colleges, business colleges, four year colleges and whatever, were invited to compete and there was no limitations on the number of players that could be entered from any one institution. Schools could enter one individual player if they so desired. The tournament format was match play from 1947 until 1958, when it became a medal play championship over 72 holes. In the same year the team championship was initiated based on 36 holes, with the four best scores of each team counting on each of the first two days.

Ten years later, in 1968, the team format was changed to a 54 hole event whereby the four best 54 hole scores of each team were combined for a team score. The medal play, which previously had been based on a 72 holes, was changed to a 54 hole format. Today, the tournament remains a 54 hole team event and a 54 hole medal event.

Over time the original concept of the tournament has undergone a gradual but significant change. What used to be a casual fun-filled week has turned into a conventional college tournament format that produces the true champions amongst the best intercollegiate golf teams from all over the country. Still, in keeping with its history, the tournament retains an element of openness and fun — each year, there is an opening day “practice round” tournament where any amateur golfer can participate and test their game against the top collegiate golfers, playing the championship course side by side with the collegians in a best ball format. For information about playing in this fun event, sign up for Pasatiempo’s mailing list below.

Past Results

Year Team Champion Medalist
2015 Texas Scottie Scheffler, Texas
2014 Stanford Cameron Wilson, Stanford
2013 Cal Pedro Figueredo, UCLA
2012 Texas Patrick Rodgers, Stanford
2011 UCLA Timothy Madigan, New Mexico State
2010 Oregon Eugene Wong, Oregon
2009 Oregon Diego Velasquez, Oregon State
2008 Saint Mary’s Jack Newman, Michigan State
2007 Purdue John Streibich, Xavier
2006 Duke Rob Grube, Stanford
2005 Oregon J.J. Scurich, Cal Poly
2004 Colorado Kane Webber, Colorado
2003 UCLA Steve Conway, UCLA
2002 Washington Conner Robbins, Washington
2001 Oregon Lars Johansson, San Diego State
2000 Fresno State Jason Allred, Pepperdine
1999 Washington Joel Kribel, Stanford
1998 UC Santa Barbara Naoya Takemoto, UCSB
1997 Ohio State Joel Kribel, Stanford
1996 Stanford Arron Oberholser, San Jose State
1995 USC Ryan Hietala, UTEP
1994 San Jose State Ted Snavely, Oregon
1993 Oregon Cam Martin, Oregon
1992 San Jose State Todd Fischer, USF
1991 UNLV Doug DuChateau, Oregon
1990 Fresno State Mike Foster, San Jose State
1989 Fresno State Rafael Ponce, BYU
1988 San Jose State Bruce Brockbank, BYU
1987 Fresno State Rich Greenwood, UCLA
1986 USC Sam Randolph, USC
1985 San Jose State Duffy Waldorf, UCLA
1984 San Jose State Grant Barnes, San Jose State
1983 UCLA & Fresno State Kris Moe, San Diego State
1982 USC Rich Fehr, BYU
1981 BYU Jay Don Blake, Utah State
1980 USC Bobby Clampett, BYU
1979 San Jose State Scott Watkins, Arizona State
1978 BYU Mark O’Meara, Long Beach State
1977 Arizona State Lee Mikles, Arizona State
1976 BYU Mike Brannan, BYU
1975 BYU Mark Lye, San Jose State
1974 Arizona State Peter Jacobsen, Oregon
1973 USC Don Baker, USC
1972 Arizona State Howard Twitty, Arizona State
1971 BYU Rich Simms, CS Los Angeles
1970 BYU Bob Clark, CS Los Angeles
1969 Arizona State Gary Sanders, USC
1968 BYU Johnny Miller, BYU
1967 San Jose State Jerry Heard, Fresno State
1966 USC Arne Dokka, CS Los Angeles
1965 San Jose State Arne Dokka, CS Los Angeles
1964 Fresno State Ross Randall, San Jose State
1963 San Jose State John Lotz, San Jose State
1962 Stanford John Lotz, San Jose State
1961 Fresno State John Lotz, San Jose State
1960 San Diego State Ron O’Connor, San Diego State
1959 Fresno State Joel Spinola, Fresno State
1958 Fresno State Dale Lingenbrink, Seattle
1957 San Jose State Stan Hobert, Arizona State
1956 Fresno State Gordon McKenzie, Seattle
1955 Stanford John McMullin, Modesto College
1954 Stanford Charles Van Linge, Stanford
1953 Stanford Ken Venturi, San Jose State
1952 Stanford Fred Brown, Stanford
1951 Stanford Ken Venturi, San Jose State
1950 California George Bruno, San Jose State
1949 San Jose State Al Nelson, Saint Mary’s
1948 San Jose State Al Nelson, Saint Mary’s
1947 Stanford Morgan Fottrell, San Jose State